top of page

History Makers Since 1946

Our Heritage


Since its formation in 1946 Adelaide City Football Club has had a proud history of success. Over that time the club has become one of the most successful clubs in Australia.

The club was formed by an expatriate group of Italian migrants and took the name of the most glorious Italian Football Club, Juventus. The clubs’ initial attempt to don the famous black and white stripes of Juventus were thwarted when the local Football Federation ruled that there could only be one black and white team per league and the black and white of Port Adelaide took precedence. So it was that the newly formed Juventus wore a navy blue strip with a white “J” before finally being permitted to wear black and white stripes from 1949.


1958 Premiers - Back Row: Voros, McRar, F.Pagani, Ferguson, J. Mather(Captain), B. Esca, H.Welk, Front Row: Fodor (Coach), C. Di Bartolo, E. Biasol, N. Ragno, G. Chiappin


It was only a short 7 year wait for the club to enjoy its first real success when the first of many League Championships arrived in 1953. This was followed by an additional 5 titles before the end of the 1950’s including an unprecedented 4 in-a-row between 1956 and 1959.


1970 & 1980

An additional 3 League Championships were won in the 1960’s and 3 more titles were won in the 1970’s up to 1976.

In 1977 Adelaide City became a foundation member of Australia’s first truly national sporting club competition, the National Soccer League (NSL). Whilst the club remained a front runner and developed a reputation for playing an attractive brand of football it was not until 1986 that the first of 3 NSL titles arrived.

1986 NSL Champions


Three-Time NSL Champions 1986, 1991–92, 1993–94



The first NSL success arrived under steely faced coach Zoran Matic whose tactical nous would lead Adelaide City to further NSL Championship successes in 1992 and 1994. The club also holds the record for most consecutive finals appearances. That record stands at 11 years having being achieved between 1990 and 2001.

1991-92 NSL Champions / 1993-94 NSL Champions

2000 - Present

With the collapse of the NSL imminent, Adelaide City withdrew from the NSL in 2004 and focused on the rebuilding of the club and its home base at Oakden in South Australia. In 2004 Australian football legend Damian Mori returned to the club and was appointed player-coach. After a season of consolidation in 2004, normal service was resumed in 2005 with the winning of the S.A. Premier League Championship.

Adelaide City celebrated its 60 year anniversary in 2006 in splendid style by winning all 3 domestic competitions. It won the 2006 pre-season Errea Cup, the 2006 Knock-out Federation Cup and the 2006 BEST Super League completing the season undefeated. Adelaide City FC has won a remarkable 17 Championships. That’s one Championship every 4 years. A truly outstanding achievement by a truly outstanding club.


19 Men's & 11 Women's Champions of SA.

Screenshot 2023-12-13 at 17-28-49 Georgia Campagnale (_georgiacampagnale) • Instagram phot
bottom of page